History of Newcastle
Cycle Speedway
Newcastle 1980
Newcastle Rebels  Scottish & Tyneside League Table

Following a successful season in 1979, Newcastle prepared for a second year in the Scottish and Tyneside League. Official junior matches were to be held after the main league match. Home meetings were to be raced on the new track at Fawdon. The season began with home and away challenge meetings with Hull. The aggregate score was close, with Hull winning 186 - 171, both teams coming out on top at home, Hull 98 - Newcastle 79, Newcastle 92 -Hull 88.

In the league, Newcastle were 3rd. of 6, losing two at home and winning two away.
For a review of the season, I can do no better than to use a contemporary report, from the locally produced "Rebels Review", edited by Terry Kirkup.

Newcastle Rebels
1980 Team

 Newcastle Rebels 1980

L-R (standing) Norman Carson, Paul Marshall, Rob Gittus, Terry Kirkup (on bike), Fred Mitchell. Alan Patterson.
(kneeling) Dave Armstrong and Phil Robson.

Scottish & Tyneside
League Table
Final League Positions 1980
Position Team M W D L For Against Points
1st Hampden 10 9 0 1 994 658 18
2nd Meadowbank 10 8 0 2 993 727 16
3rd Newcastle 10 5 0 5 868 913 10
4th Annfield 10 3 1 6 616 998 7
5th Broomhall 10 2 1 7 825 900 5
6th East Kilbride 10 2 0 8 806 906 4
A new team was formed at Fawdon with a view to enter the Scottish and Tyneside League in 1981. Headed by former Newcastle rider Ashie Patterson, practice meetings were held throughout the summer. Made up of experienced and new riders, some of those looking to impress were :- Rob Gittus, Rob McAlinden, Joe Welsh, Ashie Patterson, Tony Foster, Peter Loveday, Alan Dixon, S Sample, A Chambers, S Makepeace, G Paxton, D Bryden, D Ratcliffe, K Bryden, E Bruce, P Makepeace, D Marsh and J Madison.
The 1980 Newcastle Rider's Championship was won by Terry Kirkup after a run-off with John Wilson who was in only his first season, both had scored 18 points. Third was Fred Mitchell with 17, after a run-off with Norman Carson. 5th and 6th were Phil Robson (16) and Stuart Craig (14). The Junior championship was won by Stuart Craig (18) then Ian Platt (14) and Phil Marshall (13).

The contents of the site are and should not be reproduced elsewhere for financial gain. The contributors to this site gave the pictures and information on that understanding.  If anyone has any issue or objections to any items on the site please e-mail and I will amend or remove the item.  Where possible credit has been given to the owner of each item.

Contact Me
Edmund Hall's 1940s Recollections
Newcastle 1978
Newcastle 1979
Newcastle 1980
Newcastle 1981
Newcastle 1982
Newcastle 1983
Newcastle 1984
Newcastle 1985
Newcastle 1986
Newcastle 1987
Newcastle 1988
Newcastle 1989
Newcastle 1990
Newcastle 1991
Newcastle 1992
Newcastle 2005
Newcastle 2011
Newcastle 2012
Newcastle 2013
Newcastle 2014
Newcastle 2015
South Shields
Photos Throughout The Years
Tyneside Test Matches
Your Memories


Copyright © 2011  Les Gustafson. All rights reserved.  Advertisers/sponsors are welcome on this site. email for the price.